Alabama Board of Engineers and Land Surveyors

Renewal

Important: Please check the FAQs if you have a question about renewing your license in an inactive or retired status.

If you are licensed as a Professional Engineer and Professional Land Surveyor you should submit a renewal for each license and submit fees for each license.

On-Line Renewals
(Not Available till October 3, 2017)

Do not list any PDH activities obtained prior to your last renewal. If you are using carry forward hours, you do not need to relist the activities.

Check your PDH Carry Forward Hours

Your PDH Carry Forward Hours can be viewed using the License Search link. If you've recently renewed, your current Carry Forward Hours will not show until the web site is updated.

Continuing Education Activity Log

Enter the CE courses you obtain throughout the year once you have completed them. Login and check the information at any time. If you renew your license online, the activities will automatically be reflected on your continuing education page during the license renewal process.

Continuing Education Requirements

Requirements, Qualifying Activities, Criteria, Exemptions, Records required for Audit

Renewal Fees

General Requirements for PE/PLS Renewal

Renewal notices are sent out approximately in October every 2 years to the last known address of the licensee. It is your responsibility to keep your address updated with the board office.

The licensure law also requires continuing professional competency hours for renewing or reinstating a license.

Status When to Renew Requirements
Active October - December 31 Fee + Continuing Professional Competency Hours
Retired October - December 31 No Fee
Inactive October - December 31 Fee only
Lapsed Reinstate - Up to four years of when your license lapsed Fee + Continuing Professional Competency Hours
Expired Not Eligible File an application package as if never licensed in Alabama

Your license will lapse on December 31 every 2 years. If not renewed and you practice or offer to practice in Alabama after this date, you will be violating the Licensure Law and are subject to disciplinary action.

General Requirements for Intern Renewal

Renewal notices are sent out approximately in October every 2 years to the last known address of the licensee. It is your responsibility to keep your address updated with the board office.

Status When to Renew Requirements
Active October - December 31 No Fee
Delinquent October - December 31 No Fee

General Requirements for Certificate of Authorization Renewal

Renewal notices are sent out approximately in October of every year to the last known address of the licensee. It is your responsibility to keep your address updated with the board office.

All Principal/Branch responsible PE/PLS's must have renewed their individual license prior to renewing the company's Certificate of Authorization

Status When to Renew Requirements
Active October - January 31 Fee
Lapsed October - January 31 Fee